D25LT Backup or Delete Stored Data

Follow

If you would like to save all of your measurements you will have to periodically back up this saved data.   This back up can consist of either just moving the data files from the HunterLab directory on the flash memory to a different location on the memory, or removing the data from the flash memory by using either the USB Port or a network data connection.

The D25LT ships new with the data format as a .XML file.  This works fine as long as the saved file size does not exceed 300 measurements.  System performance slows considerably as this file size increases.  You must either back up often enough that this file size is not exceeded, or switch the software to use a .CSV file structure.   This is done in the MAINTENANCE section of the software.  Just touch the button labeled .XML to switch to .CSV   When using the .CSV structure it is best not to let the file size exceed 700 records before backing up or deleting data.

 How to Delete D25LT Data Files

The following instructions will tell you how to delete the data files in your D25LT.  This should speed up the instrument response time.  The D25LT software has two folders, JOBS and DATA.   The JOBS folder has all the measurement settings for each of your jobs.   These jobs were developed by your corporate Quality department and pre-loaded onto your system.  DO NOT open or delete any of these files. In a separate folder labeled DATA is where the individual measurements are saved for a particular job.  It is safe to delete this data if you have no further use for it.  Deleting this data on a regular basis should help to keep the D25LT software working at a reasonable speed.  The following procedure is used to delete DATA files:

  • Press “Maintenance” from the Main Screen
  • Enter your Password,  press Enter
  • Press “Exit to OS”
  • Press “Yes”
  • Double Press the “My Computer” icon, this should be in the upper left corner of the screen.
  • Double Press the “C:” icon
  • Double Press the “Program Files” icon
  • Double Press the “HunterLab” icon
  • Double Press the “D25lt” icon
  • Double Press the “Data” icon

You should now be in the directory with all the data files. 

Single Press on any file that you wish to delete, this should change the file name to a blue highlight.

Press the “Delete” icon on the upper Menu bar.

When you have finished deleting the unwanted files, close the window by pressing the “x” in the upper right hand corner.

Restart the D25LT software by Double Pressing the icon on the main screen.    You will not see it happen but the JOBS file will automatically create new DATA files for each of the ones that you deleted.  These new files will be empty and ready to start storing data.   Usually when they contain about 300 hundred readings the software starts to slow down, indicating it is time to either back-up and delete the Data file, or just delete it if you have no further use for the stored readings.

How to Back Up D25LT Data Files

The following instructions will tell you how to Back Up the data files in your D25LT.  This should speed up the instrument response time. The D25LT software has two folders, JOBS and DATA.   The JOBS folder has all the measurement settings for each of your jobs.   These jobs were developed by your corporate Quality department and pre-loaded onto your system.  DO NOT open or delete any of these files.  In a separate folder labeled DATA is where the individual measurements are saved for a particular job.   Backing up this data on a regular basis should help to keep the D25LT software working at a reasonable speed.   The following procedure is used to back up  DATA files:

  • Press “Maintenance” from the Main Screen
  • Enter your Password,  press Enter
  • Press “Exit to OS”
  • Press “Yes”
  • Double Press the “My Computer” icon, this should be in the upper left corner of the screen.
  • Double Press the “C:” icon
  • Double Press the “Program Files” icon
  • Double Press the “HunterLab” icon
  • Double Press the “D25lt” icon
  • Double Press the “Data” icon

You should now be in the directory with all the data files. 

Single Press on any file that you wish to back up,  this should change the file name to a blue highlight.

Drag this file to your desired backup location, which can be anywhere except for the Data directory that it currently resides in.  You may wish to create a Back Up folder in the HunterLab directory or in a separate directory on the flash drive, or to a removable drive connected to the USB port.

When you have finished backing up the desired files, close the window by pressing the “x” in the upper right hand corner.

Restart the D25LT software by  Double Pressing the icon on the main screen.    You will not see it happen but the JOBS file will automatically create new DATA files for each of the ones that you deleted.  These new files will be empty and ready to start storing data.   Usually when they contain about 300 hundred readings the software starts to slow down, indicating it is time to either back-up and delete the Data file, or just delete it if you have no further use for the stored readings.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Powered by Zendesk